Skip to content
June 27, 2010 / Me and my girl...

Achondroplasia

A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort. – H. Albright

I thought I should explain a little about achondroplasia not because I love talking about it but because it may help you understand myself and my daughter. This is what it says on Wikepedia which I think is where we should begin I don’t want to bog you down with too much information after all me and P are really just a little shorter than you

Achondroplasia dwarfism (pronounced /əˌkɒndrɵˈpleɪziə/) is a type of autosomal dominant genetic disorder that is a common cause of dwarfism. Achondroplastic dwarfs have short stature, with an average adult height of 131 cm (4 feet, 3-1/2 inches) for males and 123 cm (4 feet, 1/2 inch) for females.

Approximately 1 in 25,000 people are born with Achondroplasia in  the UK which usually means every so often we bump into someone in the street and do the awkward head nod. Not wanting to stop and talk as after all we are only the same height it would be like everyone with blue eyes letting on to each other but there is an urge to  aknowledge we belong to the same club which warrants at least a polite head nod. Or if you are my mother or father you pull over on the side of a busy road and practically throw yourself out of the car in order to speak to a fellow short person who is probably terrified they are about to be abducted!

At the moment P being small hasn’t seemed to make a difference although I’m use to her, it’s only when I see other babies throwing their heads around on the floor and confidently holding it up that I realise P may be a little slower at certain physical things. Looking forward to seeing some other small babies although nervous I may scare their parents with to many questions and an over keenness to share!

Leave a Reply

